The Twelve Blogs of Christmas: 12 Days of Christmas

Image 12 I appreciate that I may not understand the symbolism, but frankly if my true love gave to me a partridge in a pear tree, irrespective of the five gold rings she gave me previously, which I probably would melt down and stick in the savings vault, I would definitely lose my Christmas Spirit.

And probably question both her sanity and her standing in my true love rankings.

Instead, here’s what my true love has given me (not a partridge in sight).

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me a beautifully decorated Christmas Tree.

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me two hours of dancing madly to Strictly.

On the third day of Christmas my true love gave to me three French Brie.

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me four nappy-changing opportunities.

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me five gold chocolate coins.

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me six home-baked gingerbread men biscuits.

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me seven seas cod liver oil to keep me well.

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me eight hours of blissful sleep.

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me nine Christmas cards to write (she had written, enveloped, addressed, stamped and mailed the other 100).

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me ten pounds to go to the pub and have a few beers after a long old day at the office.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me eleven kisses spread through the day just because.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me twelve actually brilliant Christmas presents, but the best one she ever gave me, part from her hand, has to be the phone call to kick off the process that led to us sharing our second Christmas this year with our beautiful daughter.

It's your turn. What do you think? Does this resonate with you? Leave a comment and tell us why.

